The art of winging it.

Morning chicks!

I took a couple of days off to do some visiting of museums and cooking of curries and in general, just rebooting.

That’s what the weekend’s for, right?

And here I am, back again.

Ready to start the first five day week of the year.

Here goes nothing, anyway, right?

The plan was start the morning off with a lengthy swim at the Y, but I woke up still contorted from my first kettlebell class in two weeks.

The amount of lunges the man fits into an hour is obscene.

So I decided to reschedule the swim for tomorrow in the hopes of being able to bend my legs by then.

Last night, Ky and I decided to try our hands at a curry. JW and I had picked up a bunch of spices in Ann Arbor randomly over Christmas, and if you know anything about me, you know that I could eat curry every day of the week.

Seriously.

While I was hanging around the Muppets at the museum, Ky did some research.

And found out that there are about eighteen thousand different ways to curry something.

So we did what we do best.

Which is tie on our aprons and wing it.

The results were pretty tasty- check it out.

Start with a bunch of veg. Because you bought a 5lb bag at Costco.

Saute some chicken in sesame oil (or whatever you have) and salt and pepper. Set aside.

Sautee garlic and onion, because that's always a good idea.

We miss a couple of steps here, since this was when most of the Winging It occurred.

There was no time for photo taking.

Basically, we added the frozen vegetables to this oniony-garlicky goodness, and then added a can of light coconut milk (Ky said the regular was a deal breaker- I’m afraid of what those nutritional facts were like), around 3 tablespoons of curry powder (we like things on the spicy side), and some tomato sauce (the kind from a can- I’d say about a half can of the 15 oz. variety). Then we let it hang out in the pan for awhile, tasting it and burning our mouths until it was Time For Dinner.

This was the result. It was awesome.

We ate this mess of goodness over brown rice and watched Eclipse (which no, I am not embarrassed to admit) and discussed wordly things such as if we were Team Jacob or Team Edward.

Ky and I are definitely Team Jacob.

When we asked JW, he looked up from his bowl of curry and said.

“Team Harry Potter.”

I can see where he’s coming from.

It was a great meal to wind down the weekend- and now, I’m off to start the work week.

Catch you later, chickadees!

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Things that are delicious

One response to “The art of winging it.

  1. Good luck with your first 5-day. This is my 2nd and I can already tell it’s gonna be a long one…

Leave a Reply

