headed into the weekend early

Thank you Friday, for finally showing your face.

I need a big dose of weekend or I will surely lose it.

And why not? I’ve lost everything else this week anyway, so it’s a trend.

The ID is still MIA.

This morning I asked JW where our passports were, since it looks like that might be my permission-for-margarita identification tonight, and he just looked at me and sighed.

“Well, you had them last.”

Shit.

It might be Diet Cokes for me tonight.

Unless Fernando’s takes library cards as a form of identification.

But probably not.

Last night, JK, CJ and I decided that post work party, the next logical step was to head out to get a drink.

CJ suggested Pippin’s, a place I thought could potentially be a bit, ahem, on the sketchy side.

Plus I was, of course, worried about getting in without an ID.

As I was opening my mouth to express my sentiments on the establishment, we turned the corner, and noticed a police van and some officers standing in front of the bar.

Time for a change of plans.

We ended up at Streeter’s, an equally weird (underground) bar where I simply ignored the man asking for IDs and headed downstairs.

This worked out just fine, which is something I wish I had known when I was nineteen.

I will pause at this point to mention that CJ and JK were hauling around 12-packs of soda, given to them by our generous hostess.

The other bar patrons seemed to think it was odd to carry in your own carbonated beverages.

I thought it was too, so I couldn’t blame them.

In fact, our waitress finally asked us why we were toting cola in the bar, but I don’t think her explanation made her like us any more.

I’ve participated in far stranger events.

Like watching a drunk couple playing jenga with bricks in the bar.

This kept ending badly, in a cascade of  heavy bricks two feet from JK.

This did not stop them from repeat performances.

In any case, it was a good false start to the not-quite-started yet weekend.

And now, chickadees, I’m out to get the last eight hours in my cubicle finished. Have a good one!

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Near Disaster, Reflections

2 responses to “headed into the weekend early

  1. Julie Hermann

    Streeters…… I used to work there when I first moved to Chicago as a Pharm student (and was on the waiting list to get an interview at the hospital). My roommate worked there and that’s how I got the job. It filled my financial gap until a more respectable job opened up in the hospital. My father was none to pleased with this. lots of memories from there!

  2. MB

    Ahhhhh…….Fernandos!

Leave a Reply

