This old world must still be spinning round, and I still love you.

Yesterday, I was clawing through my closet, searching for a shirt. Since JW washed everything this weekend, it had to be in there somewhere.

No dice.

Shortly after that, I was tearing apart my kitchen, searching for my transit card, which apparently no longer exists.

“Nictoria. Get it together.” I said out loud to myself, which shocked me into putting down everything I’d been prepared to shovel through.

Then I realized I hadn’t heard anyone call me that in awhile. Chiefly because it was a nickname my auntie Patti used when I was younger. She passed away 3 years ago, today, and I think she was maybe issuing a reminder for me to cool it.

I promptly cooled it.

So this morning, not because I feel like being melancholy, but because I feel like being thankful, I’m posting a few songs that remind me of my aunt, who was funny and goofy and also, my godmother. She was the mom of my cousins who I love, and the grandmother of probably the cutest trio of boys I’ve ever seen. She reminds me of bird watching and James Taylor and birthday parties and really good chicken and a million other things.  So enjoy a medley on me on this Tuesday morning.

3 Comments

Filed under Reflections

3 responses to “This old world must still be spinning round, and I still love you.

  1. auntie rosemary

    Pass all of this down and it will keep her with us.

  2. Aunt Kathy

    Thanks, Nikki. Keep sharing the memories. She’s still with us and she’s shining on you. Love you.

  3. Mom

    I love you, kiddo.

Leave a Reply

