Ain’t no rest for the wicked

So yesterday I was feeling like four miles was going to be impossible.

You can just do three, you know, I kept telling myself. I have a three miler on my training plan too, and I figured if all else failed, I could just hit that mark and then flee the treadmill.

I’m pretty stubborn though (if you haven’t noticed) and so I pushed that voice aside and set the treadmill to run for 40 minutes.

And then I ran.

I passed the two mile mark without the debilitating cramps that had gotten me on Monday, and felt pretty hopeful that I could get at least to three miles.

I had the power of my hot beats playlist, you see.

And also, I was feeling pretty good.

I even jacked up the speed a little bit.

And then took a couple of quick walking breaks.

It’s a two steps forward, one step back kind of world I live in.

I finished the four miles with limited issues (a little bit of fatigue, and nearly dropping my iPod), and then kept doing a walk/run routine until before I knew it, I had hit five plus miles.

I felt back on track.

And less like I’m going to embarrass myself at the Shuffle next week.

Though it’s looking like the conditions aren’t shaping up to be any better then they’ve always been in mid-March.

We’ll see how this works out chickens.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Running, Weather

2 responses to “Ain’t no rest for the wicked

  1. I’m glad things are looking up! I’m sure you’re going to do great. The one good thing about the shuffle being so crazy packed is that there is a whole troop of people around you to help get you through!

  2. I need to do this, I have a truly disturbing lack of interest in the gym the past week or so.

Leave a Reply

