Buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks.

Okay, it’s freezing outside.

And it’s supposed to rain later on today.

But it’s also Opening Day.

Which means that for one brief moment in time, my dreams of the Cubs finally winning a World Series aren’t dashed.

Check in with me later today for an update.

It’s also April Fools’ Day though, so maybe check in with me after tomorrow’s game.


A girl can be hopeful, can’t she?

The Cubs in town also means that people are already lining up at the bars in Wrigleyville, and that I’m apt to run into a few die hard fans (or a few thousand) while traipsing through my neighborhood this weekend.

It’s nice to be surrounded by people with a common goal, I guess.

Last night, JD and I took a jog around the neighborhood, free of the fear of being knocked over by drunk fans or stepping in not quite empty nacho containers for the last time.

After that, it’s a run-at-your-own-risk situation.

I’ll try not to complain that much, as running by Wrigley probably isn’t something to sneer at.

Other things going on this weekend: heading out for sushi with J & V tonight (and hopefully not beating back the crowds- my guess is they’ll be headed out for bar food, not sushi), crossing my fingers and wishing Uconn to a Final Four victory this weekend, and blessedly, doing absolutely nothing that involves a duck, with or without its head.

I need a break from poultry.

And with that, chickadees, I’m off to push through this Friday.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, I love sports, Running, Wrigley

One response to “Buy me some peanuts and cracker jacks.

  1. he he he… have a good weekend!

    I’m still not sure who I’ll be cheering for in the Final 4. All my favored teams were knocked out by the Sweet 16. Blah.

Leave a Reply

