Race weekend, 2011.

You’d think that after 26 rainy springs, I’d have wised up and purchased myself a pair of rain boots.

Unfortunately, this isn’t the case, and I’m trying to figure out how to get only moderately wet on my commute this morning.

Probably I’ll just be soaked by the time I hit my cube.

I had grand plans this morning to get up early and swim a mile before hitting the weekend of the Shamrock Shuffle.

But alas, when I woke up and got out of bed pre-six this morning, the sound of the rain and the fact that I had a warm bed mere inches aware incited me to spend another hour of sleeping.

I think this was probably the right decision. I’ve been running my tail off, and doing things like hopping over to St. Louis to work 13 hours at a stretch.

Maybe a rest day was on the agenda.

In any event, I did fit in all three of my training runs this week, so I think that’s probably what matters most.

Last night, I even convinced myself I could get 2 miles done in under 18 minutes.

I was extremely impressed when I actually got my body to follow through with that request.

Progress, my friends.

Tonight I’m headed over to Navy Pier for my once-a-year-trek to the Health & Fitness Fair where I can pick up my packet and sample eight different kinds of Clif Bars and sports drinks.

I’ll also get my newest Shamrock Shuffle shirt, and hopefully it will be a year where the size I ordered corresponds with my idea of a medium.

Some years I swim in shirts.

Some years the shirt seems to child size.

It’s a gamble I’m willing to take.

After my jaunt with a healthy expo, it’s off to Sabatino’s, to eat all the pasta I can get my mitts on.

Carbo-loading, right?

And now- it’s off to figure out what this walk to the El is going to look like.

It won’t be pretty- of that I am sure.

Happy Friday, chickadees!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Running, Things that are delicious

One response to “Race weekend, 2011.

  1. Have a good weekend and good luck on Sunday! The warm weather will be an interesting switch-up from last year!!

Leave a Reply

