Five Good Things: What a week ahead.

Love a Sunday, chickadees.

The sun is shining, and although it’s a little on the cold side, there are lots of things to be happy about today, so let’s get right to them, shall we?

1. JW and I spent the morning buying items in bulk at Costco. There’s nothing like hanging out at a place where you can fulfill your need for a rotisserie chicken and a children’s book in the same store. Just nothing like it.

2. Today starts another season of outdoor soccer, which means running around and kicking balls and getting dirty. There’s something about all of these things that is extremely appealing as we head into spring.

3. Ky and I are attempting some kind of risotto tonight. I bought all kinds of spring-ish vegetables that may or may not actually be in season quite yet, and we’re going to just wing the whole production.

I am feeling pretty anti-recipe was what Ky confessed this morning.

No problem. We’re set up for that kind of thing here.

4. Tomorrow starts a four day work week, which ends in a road trip to Waterloo for some R&R, and hopefully, a leg of lamb.

I’ve never made a leg of lamb- but there’s a first time for everything.

5. I spent a good portion of the early afternoon cuddling up with a new author (not new to the world you see, just new to me), Sarah Vowell, who I think I might really be liking. My first foray into her is in the form of the book A Partly Cloudy Patriot, in which she tells tales of her love for American history and historical site.

I can relate to this, you see.

Her last chapter deals expressly with my favorite, TR, and she ends the book noting:

” I shook my head and grinned at the picture of the crinkle-eyes, opemouthed President Teddy. That guy really knew how to live.”  

My thoughts exactly.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Five Good Things, Good Reads, Good times, Things that are delicious, Weather

One response to “Five Good Things: What a week ahead.

  1. naturallyesl

    Not sure about the R&R, darling. We’ll do our best! Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

