So rare as a day in June

Why, hello June!

Thanks for showing up!

June 1st means a couple of things around these parts, all of them on the positive side:

1. I absolutely am not pulling out my coat again, even if Chicago changes its mind and decides to plunge in temperature. And that is that.

2. Today marks three years since JW and I moved into our sweet little apartment. That was fast. Here’s to another year of fun parties, cooking crazy things, deck sitting, and living with only one kitchen drawer.

It makes things interesting.

3. It’s alfresco dining time around here. Last night, I sat outside at a bar, sipping wine and eating apps and being glad that I wasn’t shoved into a booth sitting on my jacket in a dark pub. Things are on the up and up.

4. We’re officially in the season that Chicagoans have been waiting for since last September. We’ve been patient, donning parkas and trudging through snow, rain, and breaking winds, and now we’re ready for the beach, grilling, and sitting in the sunshine. Don’t disappoint us, Second City.

And with that, I’m off to the office, and then it’s back to Lakeview for a nice, sunny run in what seems to be an extremely acceptable outside temperature.

We’re off to a good start, Summer, you and I.

Let’s keep it that way.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Reflections, Weather

Leave a comment