tales in distraction

A couple of notes before we cruise into the weekend:

Last night I sweated, literally, more than I ever had at the gym. I can’t tell if this was due to my workout, or due to insufficient air conditioning at the Y. In any case, I was both weirded out and kind of embarrassed, but I pressed on. I thought running inside would help to alleviate the sweat factor, but apparently not.

I’m looking for colder ground.

*****

JW had his bachelor party last weekend, which means we have a lot of strange bottles of beer and a fridge full ofย grill-able meats.

So it’s been a burger/hot dog world around here the past few days.

In addition, we happened to receive a delightful toaster oven from my aunt for a shower gift, which JW has been pretty giddy about.

It’s the small things, chickens.

He’s been using the new appliance to reheat all of his grilled meats, and so far, it’s been working out pretty nicely.

I get home from the gym, I’m presented with a burger.

I could get used to this.

Last night though, JW had already left for rugby practice before I got home, so I was on my own with the reheating.

I opened the toaster oven, and was suddenly transported back to 2003.

It turns out JW doesn’t value cleaning out the toaster oven with each use.

And in case you’re wondering, an uncleaned toaster over smells pretty much like a George Foreman grill when it’s been sitting in your studio apartment’s matchbox sized kitchen for a couple of days.

Not that I have any experience with that.

But if I had to guess, that’d be it.

I scrubbed the offensive tray clean, and laid in wait for JW to get back from practice.

Oh, and I also maybe watched some reality television.

When I confronted my fiance with this knowledge upon his return, his response was brief.

Well, I never had a George Foreman grill.

I was so distracted by the ridiculousness of this statement that I forgot all about the toaster oven incident.

Which was probably his plan all along.

*****

This weekend is going to be filled with cleaning up, going out, sitting down, and getting to it.

I can barely wait.

Catch you chickadees in this nice long weekend.

7 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Near Disaster, Reflections, Running, Weather

7 responses to “tales in distraction

  1. Yeah… I left the gym in shame of how my entire shirt was drenched. Humidity is a killer, man.

    Have a good holiday weekend! If you’re bored sunday, give me a shout- megan and I will be up to no good in the wrigleyville area… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I wish someone presented me with a burger after every run. My mileage would definitely increase!

    I feel your pain in terms of men and the cleaning of appliances. And logic. When my boyfriend and I moved in together every night felt like a intro to cleaning education lesson. “See that grease on the stove? Yeah, it’s not going to magically disappear. Let me show this neat paper towel and disinfectant trick…See? Isn’t cleaning fun?”

    I’d like to say after two years of living together don’t still have conversations like that but they do still happen from time to time. But he a lot of winning qualities that outweigh he occasional reluctance to embrace the neat-freak lifestyle I demand, so I’ll keep him. I do need to teach him that burger trick though…

  3. Trish

    Was this the NEW toaster oven already in disarray??? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: Winner, Winner – Chicken Dinner! | Hungry Hungry Runner

Leave a Reply

