i know the heart of life is good.

I have this conviction, that if something happened to me, God forbid, that I would want people to know first and foremost that I (by my own standards and no one else’s) have seen enough, have been enough, and certainly, have been loved enough.

And even if it’s naive or short sighted, it’s what I truly believe.

This is a hard weekend for a lot of people, for a lot of different reasons.

And we all have our reasons.

I was with my hair stylist last night, who recently lost his dad. We hugged, we cried a little, we laughed a lot.

And that’s life.

It’s not one thing. It’s not straightforward. We can’t be just happy, or just brokenhearted. It’s more complicated than that, and mostly, I think, thank God, because it might be too hard if it wasn’t.

This is a happy time. This is a sad time. This is its own time.

And as I wade through all of it (and make you wade through it with me, because I need to type it out of me), I will focus on the good things. Because there are so many good things.

And now I’m going to go walk around in the sunshine with my friends and see some of them.

2 Comments

Filed under Reflections

2 responses to “i know the heart of life is good.

  1. mollyharlow

    Beautifully said! Life *is* full of so many good things. Thanks for reminding me! 🙂 Have a good weekend!

  2. Aunt Kathy

    Very Eloquent, Nikki. Love you!

Leave a Reply

