ramblings at the start of the week.

Dear Bears,

I stayed up far past my school night bedtime simply to watch you fall apart in the second half.

Don’t let it happen again.

Sincerely,

Nicole Palluzzi

I got so excited when Devin Hester caught the ball last night that I yelled out “You Go Girl!” in the middle of a crowded bar.

If I’m willing to embarrass myself like that, the Bears should be willing to score enough touchdowns to win.

Anyway.

Now that that’s out of the way, welcome to Tuesday!

I’m headed back to the dentist this morning, and I’m hoping that this time I don’t end up with a look rivaling Lisa Rinna post surgery.

It’s just not for me.

Only two more dentist appointments after this and the dental shame will be over.

Let the six month cleanings begin.

I promise one day I’ll get over this dental shame and stop talking about it.

Until then, you’re stuck with me.

I’m also headed to the Y tonight for a run, now that I’ve recovered enough from kettlebells to, you know, walk around without wincing.

I wonder how many miles I can finish before my legs decide enough, already.

You’ll be the first to know.

And the other Y patrons, if it involves falling off the treadmill.

I’ve been toying with a turkey trot this year, since I’ll be in the city and I need some kind of end goal in order to stay motivated, but the only one I’m seeing is this one.

 

Generally, I like the 8k distance- it’s more satisfying than 3.1 miles, but it doesn’t require any kind of out of the ordinary training or extra effort.

But on Thanksgiving, I feel like it’s still too much to commit.

I’m probably just being lazy.

Is anyone else signed up for this one yet, and does anyone else think a 5k jaunt still counts on a holiday dedicated to eating?

We’ll see if I can find it in my heart to do the online registration this week.

And with that, I’m off to spend some time with my dentist.

Floss those pearly whites, chickadees, or you’ll end up like me.

 

7 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, I love sports, Near Disaster, Reflections, Running

7 responses to “ramblings at the start of the week.

  1. I’ll be doing the St. Giles Turkey Trot in picturesque Oak Park, IL!

  2. I’ve been looking at that one, too (staying in the city this year as well). I want to say I’ve seen a 5k as well, but it could have been a suburb one. I’ll be sure to send anything your way if I find anything good!

  3. Yeah, that game last night was just unacceptable. The Lions need to start losing, soon. I almost beat up a 45 year old Lions fan at the table next to me during the game, but he sort of had it coming. I want to do a turkey trot, too! I think it’ll be in the burbs, though…

  4. I’m doing a Turkey Trot! But it’s like 100 miles west of Chicago so I doubt it’s of interest to you! I’ve done the Naperville Turkey Trot before. It’s really well organized AND you get a long sleeve tech shirt! I’m all about the swag. 🙂 Here’s the link: https://napervilleturkeytrot.com/

Leave a Reply

