not a minute before.

And just like that, November’s upon us.

Not that I hate November.

I mean, it’s home to weekends of football, my favorite feast, and the gearing up to the entirety of the holiday season.

So no, November’s not so bad.

Last night I rode the El to the end of the (blue) line to check out my parents’ new house.

It’s definitely a step up in the civilization sector of things to consider.

When we left for dinner, it took a mere five minutes, not the at least eight mile drive that I’ve grown accustomed to.

I could get used to this, I think.

This morning I woke up early and forced myself to get to the gym and run in my new sneakers.

It is a new month, after all, and I thought that maybe I should try starting it out on the right foot.

Right feet, as it were.

I got a little farther than four miles, which was just fine with me, and scooted home to start the rest of the day.

My brother stayed with me last night.

He was very firm about his early leaving time.

I love driving in the middle of the night. 

I told him he couldn’t leave until at least 4am. I don’t like the thought of my baby brother on the road in the dead of night.

Fine, I’ll leave exactly at four. Not one minute later.

I woke up at 2am, walked out to the living room, and demanded that he go back to sleep.

I am sleeping, he said.

He’s still snoring on my couch.

And now, chickens, it’s off to face the beginning of a new month!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Reflections, Running

2 responses to “not a minute before.

  1. Brothers… they’re so damn stubborn… lol

    My little brother used to be so easy to control. And now he’s a real person. What’s that about?

  2. I’m not hating November right now either. Especially since it’s 65 degrees outside right now. Sigh…I wish fall was ALWAYS like this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

