it’s the most wonderful time of the year.

Today, my friends, is my Friends-giving celebration.

It’s a time when I cram 20 people into my apartment, force them to be knee-to-knee and elbow to elbow, and then eat delicious foods and drink wine all night.

It’s one of my favorite days of the year.

Everyone brings something, so we get to share the wealth of our culinary knowledge.

Plus that way I don’t have a baked goods induced panic attack.

JW and I provide the turkey, which is currently hanging out in a lemon-salt-oregano rub in the fridge, because it was so awesome last year that it warranted a repeat.


This year JW was home from work, and so he helped me put together the rub and get it ready for the fridge. Last year, I was alone, and the turkey rolled off the counter and I had to leap across the kitchen to stop it.

It was fairly dramatic.

Also a proud moment in my life, as I’m not sure I’ve ever moved so fast.

The most dramatic thing that happened this year was that I kept spilling salt everywhere.

That’s what happens when you have a cooking partner.

I highly recommend it.

Up next, turkey roasting, cake making, playlist crafting, and laughing all night.

I predict that it’s going to be a lovely day.

I hope everyone else is having an excellent day!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Near Disaster, Things that are delicious

Leave a Reply

