get yourself a bobtail ring

December 1st, chickens.

It’s the start of the holiday month, and so, again, I’m blogging to the sounds of James Taylor’s Christmas album, which is, unpredictably, my favorite one.

Other signs of December: freezing cold temperatures and decorations as far as the eye can see.

Except here in my apartment, where I certainly will not get to that until at least Sunday.

In fact, I just shoved some turkey and cornucopia figurines in a drawer last night.

I’m a little slow this year, it turns out.

Last night my parents, grandma, and Ky came over and we cooked up Shrimp Pasta in a Foil Packet, but once again, in my bliss surrounding the event of eating this delicious dish, I didn’t snap a photo.

Which is especially a shame because not only is it delicious, it’s also beautiful.

You should try it out- it’s easily tweakable, and no, you certainly do not need to add an entire half cup of oil first.

Pioneer Woman is sometimes ridiculous, and while I love this about her, I try to take it into consideration when diving into one of her recipes.

Otherwise, I’d weigh 300 lbs by now, and that is not even close to a joke.

Anyway, it’s fairly easy, and also impressive to a bunch of hungry guests.

Up tonight, I’m headed back to the evening workout, since even though my head knows that yoga to start the day would have been productive, my body said, thank you very much I think I’ll just stay in bed a bit longer.

I couldn’t fight it.

Maybe I’ll get to that yoga tomorrow.

Have a good Thursday, chickens.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Reflections, Things that are delicious, Weather

4 responses to “get yourself a bobtail ring

  1. I’m giving myself a break tomorrow morning and sleeping in super late. It’s my reward for going every day this week. And also I need to stop smelling f-ing Dinkel’s Bakery… ha

  2. Don’t worry about the decorating delay…You’ve still got plenty of time! I probably wouldn’t have gotten all my fall stuff put away and my Christmas stuff up if the boyfriend hadn’t been so excited to to get a tree last week.

    I just recently discovered Pioneer Woman (thanks to you!!!) and have to agree – the woman can cook but I’d have to buy new fat pants if I made every delicious dish she creates!

  3. Haha, you are so right about PW’s recipes! 1/2 a cup of oil seems excessive unless you’re cooking for 10.

Leave a Reply

