the long ride home.

So last night, my El ride took an extra, oh, 35 minutes on the way home.

Aside from the usual rush hour crush, we had fugitives to contend with.

Apparently there was some sort of standoff in Uptown, which led to a shut down of the Wilson stop, which led to backed up trains crawling underneath the city at about 1 mile per hour.

Why can’t criminal standoffs happen in non-commute times, is my question?

In any case, by the time I finally hopped off the train, I had just about had it with grumbling, irritable crowds of people, which meant that the gym was out.

I went home and posed my way through some yoga instead, which lowered my blood pressure significantly and made me stop thinking about all the lurking killers out there, ruining my commute, and well, killing people.

After dinner, JW and I sat down and made quick work of the first half of Season 1 of True Blood, since I’m pretty much the only person I know who hasn’t become obsessed with the show.

I still haven’t seen the new Twilight movie.

I guess I’m not cut out to be a vampire lover.

The show is super ridiculous, filled with pretty bad dialogue and ridiculous sex scenes, but this didn’t stop me from watching three episodes in a row and wishing I could stay up later to finish it.

I’m not proud of this. But it turns out the show is strangely addictive.

Please tell me I’m not the only one.

Tonight, post hanging out in my cube for the next eight hours, my plan is to finally get my Christmas tree installed in my living room, to bake some cookies for a work function (watch out world, Nikki’s pre-heating the oven and using a mixer- things could get out of hand), and maybe watching another episode of the vampires.

By which I mean the rest of the season.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Near Disaster, Reflections

2 responses to “the long ride home.

  1. I heard about the standoff (thanks facebook!). Need to update myself with what happened…

  2. Oh, yes. CTA was a nightmare last night. I’m in full agreement – all criminal activity should happen during non-rush hour timeslots. Seriously.

    You are not alone in terms of your reluctance to jump on the vampire bandwagon. Much to everyone’s shock and disapproval I’ve never seen True Blood or any of the Twilight saga. Call me old-fashioned, but I prefer my vampires to resemble Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise.

Leave a Reply

