five good things: ring in that new year edition

Chickens, it’s gonna be a quick one today, since I have an apartment to clean, dishes to make, and family and friends to usher in the new year with tonight.

I thought, since it’s a time of reflection, I might give December 31st the old Five.Good.Things treatment, focusing on the things that were good about 2011. Here we go:

1. JW and I had an awesome, super fun wedding. Also, we’re married now. And even though so far, being husband and wife feels just like being Nikki and Jon always has, I’m glad we got to make it official with all our friends and family and also, a giant party.


2. Tobin was born! I laid eyes on my godson yesterday, and I could not be excited that he’s here! ¬†Sometimes, all it takes is a little baby to remind you of how good life really is.


3. JW and I took a trip to Martha’s Vineyard, where I reconnected with all my island-y, east coast foods and sights. It was the perfect trip for us, and I know we’ll be back now that I’ve got JW hooked on the lobsters and nature walks.


4. Also, I got to go on an adventure with CJ to JK’s wedding in Montana, one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. I wish I could go there once a month to take a hike and clear my head. It was, as I like to say, a life changing experience.


5. The fifth good thing about 2011 is all the rest of it: good health, good friends & family, a job, and all the other little things that make my life what it is. 2011 has been a year of ups and downs, but I think I’m ready to take what I learned from it and move into 2012 full of positive thoughts and excitement.

I hope everyone has a safe, fun, and excellent New Years’ tonight. I’ll be posting about what we’ve done over here, and I can’t wait to see how everyone else makes out- bon anni chickadees!

1 Comment

Filed under Five Good Things

One response to “five good things: ring in that new year edition

  1. Congrats on having such a great year, my friend! I hope 2012 is just as awesome for you!

Leave a Reply

