rustic eating, weekday style.

Chickens, there was a beautiful sunrise this morning.

And what’s even more beautiful is that it seemed to be coming up at about 7:00 AM, which means that the days are indeed stretching out, at least a little.

Last night Ky and I posed our way through yoga, and I reveled in my new, stickier mat (thanks sorella!).

Then we decided to cook something rustic, using this recipe as a loose guide.

We subbed sweet potatoes for squash, added brussel sprouts, and lost the walnuts.

Actually, we forgot the walnuts, but as Ky put it, “I didn’t miss them.”

First we (read: not me) chopped up all of our vegetables and roasted them in olive oil and balsamic vinegar.


Then we stowed it in the oven at 375 degrees for the length of our yoga DVD plus a bit more (so probably about 45 minutes, in the end). We turned off the oven and left the vegetables in there to finish up (mostly because I was out of counter space) and then made some farro (and by some I mean two cups, uncooked).

Farro is an ancient grain (think quinoa) that you boil for about 15 minutes. It looks sort of like rice, but it’s got a firm (Heidi from 101 cookbooks calls it “toothsome”) texture and it almost tastes like oatmeal, but not really.

My explanation is lame. I suggest you just go try it- it’s a whole grain and it’s high in fiber and protein, and really, what else do you need to know about it?

Anyway, once that was done, we tossed the farro, s&p, the roasted vegetables (which pretty much smelled better than anything, ever) and about 1/2 cup of shredded asiago together, and served it up.


We granted ourselves a glass of red wine to go with it, and deemed the whole thing delicious, and also, fairly on par with the season.

Which basically makes it my new favorite dish.

Which is good, since I still have the rest of a giant bag of farro hanging out in my pantry.

Have a lovely friday chickadees!

3 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Things that are delicious

3 responses to “rustic eating, weekday style.

  1. I also did a combo of sweet potatoes and brussels together last night. It was a “what’s in my refrigerator” moment that really worked out to my advantage!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Oh, how I wish I liked brussels!!! Hope you are having a great weekend!

  3. Lauren Wiltsie

    I made it today, but added some kale. It was delicious.

Leave a Reply

