retreat is a treat.

JW and I just returned from a lovely week with his parents in MI, where we ate a delicious dinner, (including these awesome potatoes), drank wine, opened gifts, played pinochle, had brunch at Chelsea, MI’s finest restaurant, ran into an old friend, watched football, and took a walk around the lake.


The weather was sunny and warm-ish, which is bizarre (but I’ll take it) and the NY Giants won, so I’d say it was pretty much an all around lovely weekend. There’s nothing like a two day retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city (Chicago, I still love you best).

And here we are at Monday again, I suppose.

That felt like it happened fast, didn’t it?

Today I’m settling into the idea of a five day work week and also wondering when winter’s going to show up for more than just a tease.

Not that I’m complaining, but I’m beginning to think we may be hurtling towards an ice age warm up at this point.

Or it might just snow until June.

You never know in Chicago.

And now I suppose it’s time to get back at it- have a great start to your week chickens, and enjoy the warmer weather if you’ve got it!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Good times, Michigan, Reflections, Things that are delicious, Weather

One response to “retreat is a treat.

  1. Cathy

    It truly was lovely. Thanks

Leave a Reply

