period dramas and culinary delights

And it’s still freezing out.

Bleh.

I spent an hour at the gym this morning, trudging through some cross training.

The Stairmaster is basically my worst enemy, chickens.

But I managed to make it home alive.

In other news, I was cheered up this morning by a Youtube video featuring one of the best characters from Downtown Abbey, the most awesome show (on PBS ever).

If you’re not familiar with the show, you might not find it as awesome as I do, but what can I say, I’m a sucker for a period drama.

Last night JW and I made dinner, trying out a new(er) PW recipe that I forgot to take pictures of, but click through to see what it’s about.

Tuscan Bean Soup with Shrimp (i.e. a culinary delight)

We made the soup with spinach instead of kale (because it turns out that my husband makes a face when kale gets thrown into the grocery cart), and only 1 lb of shrimp.

Also, my shrimp were jumbo, so after cooking them (in a tablespoon or so of olive oil, not four tablespoons of butter), we cut them up into pieces.

A delicious, tomato-ey concoction if you ask me.

Plus it basically has all the healthy things in it.

Try it out. You can thank me later.

And now, it’s off to the races.

And almost off to the weekend.

3 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Reflections, Things that are delicious, Weather

3 responses to “period dramas and culinary delights

  1. Ok… pioneer woman’s soup looks fantastic! It’s really a shame my roommate doesn’t like beans because this would have been perfect for Slowcooker Sunday. 😦

  2. Must. Make. This. Soup. Immediately.

    I can’t believe you can last a whole hour on the stairmaster! That’s worthy of sainthood, I think. I avoid that machine like the plague!

  3. Hahaha, without the context I really wasn’t sure where you were going with this post after I read the title. 🙂 I was eyeing that soup recently- there’s something about shrimp in soup that sounds really appealing.

Leave a Reply

