head right in.

Morning, chickens.

I woke myself up early this morning in an attempt to tackle my long(ish) run at the Y.

Five miles was on the schedule.

After my running debacle on Wednesday, in which I continued to shock myself on the machine (yes, electrical shocking), and also huffed and puffed the entire time, I had low expectations.

When I got to the gym, I faced my nemesis, even murmuring a “good morning” in his direction, and handed him my card.

I was trying to be pleasant.

Then I went my merry way into the locker room.

Except I heard the woman directly behind me say “I’m sorry, I left my card at home.”

“Go right in,” he said cheerfully.

Are you kidding?

I don’t think I’m ever gonna get that guy.

I finished my five miles in about 49 minutes, which is slow-ish, but when compared to what happened a couple days ago, I was certainly willing to claim it as a victory and get myself out of the gym.

When I hit six miles, I think it’s going to be time to ditch the gym- there’s only so much you can stare at out the Y window.

Up today is a new day with a new haircut, and only a few hours in the office. My cohorts and I are headed to the Greater Food Depository to assist with whatever it is they need us to get up to, and I’m happy to trade that for a couple hours in my cubicle.

Then it’s only one night and a complete lack of packing standing between me and the city of Angels.

Who’s ready for the weekend?

Yeah, me too.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Reflections, Running

One response to “head right in.

  1. I’m jealous of your time outside of the office! Seriouly… I’m counting down hours until Friday at 6:00.

    Agreed with you on the excitement to get outside. My longer runs have been painful because really all I have to stare at are the back of others on the tread. Or whatever they’re watching on tv. That’s always amusing for a few minutes…

Leave a Reply

