taking it to the warehouse.

Chickadees, I can’t wait for this day to be over and for my trip to LA.

I woke up this morning to hit the gym for one last Midwest run, but there was snow on the ground.

And I was tired.

And kind of sore from yesterday’s charity activities.

Full of excuses, as you can see.

So I’ll be making that one up at some point, I suppose.

I have a hard time accepting gym related defeat.

Yesterday my work cohorts and I took ourselves to a warehouse to pack boxes of foods for children, which was rewarding, but not without its tribulations.

For instance, I struggled to break down boxes and instead spent the majority of my time cutting up my fingernails and my hands.

And I was called violent by a man who witnessed me ripping apart boxes so I could fit them in the giant dumpsters.

Who knew I could find that so rewarding?

Also, a passel of old women kept getting in my BBQ chicken-in-a-can loading area, thus causing me to get a little territorial.

My friend CJ scolded me for acting unkind toward the elderly, but it turns out, I’m a competitive machine when it comes to warehouse work.

I was thinking of the children, after all.

In any case, it was an afternoon outside of the office, and for that I was grateful.

As I was grateful for the wine drinking and dinner eating that followed.

Small things, chickens, make me happy.

And with that, I’m off to the races for one more day, and then I’m sunshine bound.

I’ll catch you guys when I’ve had some Vitamin D and hopefully some star gazing of the celebrity variety.

Doesn’t sound too bad, does it?

Have a lovely (snowy) day.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Near Disaster, Reflections

One response to “taking it to the warehouse.

  1. I hope you get a chance to run while you’re there… soak up all the good weather!!!

Leave a Reply

