shining like it wants spring to come.

The sun is shining like it wants spring to come this morning.

Me too, sun. I’m pulling for you on this one.

Today, on this extra day we get once every four rotations around the sun, I’m thinking about my aunt and godmother, who I lost the last time we had this extra bit of time in our year.

That day feels like a thousand years ago to me.

It also feels like yesterday.

I think that’s how things shake out in this life of ours, chickens.

I do know that the blue sky and the warm, this-is-almost-over weather are encouraging me to put my best foot forward and to be so happy that winter’s almost over.

So that’s my plan today.

We’re lucky that this extra day is going to be such a beautiful one.

Enjoy this one, chickadees.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Reflections

One response to “shining like it wants spring to come.

  1. That’s the thing with loss, isn’t it? It can seem like it was forever ago and like it was just yesterday all at the same time. I’m sure you grandma and aunt are smiling down at you. Sending you warm thoughts on this unseasonably warm day.

Leave a Reply

