running the wrong way to the right thing.

Happy weekend, chickens!

I’m about to head out to swing bells and jump around at the direction of an all-too-chipper Russian.

No better way to start a Saturday, if you ask me.

Ask me again when it’s over.

Last night my friends and I set out to try Korean BBQ at Cho Sun Ok in Lincoln Square. I had never been, so I had no idea what to expect.

After the world’s longest ride on the Brown line, and a panic-stricken 3 block walk in the wrong direction (when I’m late, I get flustered. I lose sight of Chicago’s gridlines and maybe end up almost walking all the way home on Lincoln Ave before realizing that I’m headed the wrong way), I finally met my friends, where they’d already gotten the chance to dig in.

Luckily, there was a massive amount of food, and my husband took a picture of what I’d missed, so I had some context.

Basically, with Korean BBQ, you order something delicious and then you cook it yourself, on the table. They bring you a big slab of meat (yes, I know it was Friday. Blah), and you sear it over your own personal cast iron pan. Then you eat said meat with toppings like picked cucumbers, cabbage, and spicy sauce, and then, the waitress comes up and makes kimchi fried rice and it is the most awesome thing you’ll ever eat.

My friends told me that they’d had something of an emergency before I showed up, which meant the lovely waitress/heroine had to come and deal with the smoky scene they caused.

The food, however, turned out delicious.


Sorry for the blurry photos- in my hungry, late haste, I forgot I had toted alone my actual camera and instead chose to take these shots with my phone camera.

But you get the delicious idea, I think.

If you’re going to try this out, I recommend getting there early, since it’s tiny and first come, first serve.

I also recommend showing up late so you don’t have to stress over what to order and amazing bowls of hot food just appear before you.

That was my experience, anyway.

In addition to offering something different, fun, and authentic, this place also has the superb qualification of being BYOB.

And basically free. I think our total bill for 6 people was under $70.

Can’t think of a better way to spend my Friday night, can you?

Check you later, chickens!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Things that are delicious

Leave a Reply

