so don’t you worry your pretty little mind

Morning, chickadees.

Yesterday, March let us know it still has the free will to produce winter-like conditions at any moment.

I get it.

Can I have those 70 degrees back now, please?

In other news, I would like to report on the fact that recently, I’ve decided I may be finally.losing.it.

The first evidence is submitted as the following:

Sunday night we were watching Mad Men and some random commercial came on in memory of Ray Charles.

“You guys! You guys! Oh my God. Ray Charles is dead!” I said, gasping and flailing my arms.

Ray Charles has been dead since 2004.

Which immediately flashed on the screen.

Ky and JW just looked at me, and I crawled back to the couch in a fit of giggling/near shame.

What’s that about?

Next up, I would like to submit to you all that I have been losing shoes for two weeks.

I have a one bedroom apartment.

So far, I’ve recovered 3 shoes, but I’m still down one pretty important nude heel.

When you have square feet (and oh, I do), every shoe counts.

No man left behind, and all that.

How do you lose a shoe in less than 1000 square feet?

I’ll report back.

*****

In other news, yesterday was a self-proclaimed rest day due to my limbs still smarting from my kettlebells & 8k combo.

Saturday in our session, Gene ordered us into plank position for far longer than I deemed necessary after two weeks of no class.

I raised up a little, trying to give myself a break.

“Nikki- what is that? Are you doing the downward dog?” he said, prompting me to return my hips to I-am-just-about-dying position.

Today’s the first day I can walk like a normal person.

Tomorrow I run eight miles.

I think.

*****

Last night JW tackled making a baked ziti, which I advised him on from the couch.

“How do I know when there’s enough cheese?” he said, a reasonable question.

“You feel it in your bones,” I said, unhelpfully, while munching on a Snickers.

“I don’t feel cheese in my bones,” he said.

The ziti’s delicious.

He felt it in his bones.

*****
And now, my chickens, I’m crossing my fingers, pulling on a light coat, and hoping for the 70 degree weather I have coming to me.

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, Good times, Near Disaster, Reflections, Running, Things that are delicious

One response to “so don’t you worry your pretty little mind

  1. There is never enough cheese. Ever.

    The Ray Charles thing sounds like a scuffle my roommate and I would have gotten into. We do it often. Most recently was one we had about whether Mr. Feeny is alive or not. He totally is.

Leave a Reply

