get your head in the game.

Oh chickens.

What a long day yesterday was.

Post work, I got home and set to work starting laundry, doing dishes, and chatting with my dad.

Also known as: avoiding the 8 mile run I had committed to.

Eventually, I had no more dishes to do and no choice but to lace up my sneakers and take off running.

I contend that post 7 miles, it’s all about the mental capacity.

By this point, my body’s up for whatever mileage I force on it.

My head though?

That’s a whole different ball game.

Last night I spent some time thinking about endurance running while treading it out.

I’ve never been a fast runner.

In fact, when I was in elementary school, I was the girl who trotted over the mile run finish line 2 minutes after the qualifying time.

I still contend a dozen years later that running 19 laps around a gym is ridiculous.

I was also probably the world’s slowest soccer player.

I spent some serious time chasing people unsuccessfully.

All of this led me to believe that it was running that I hated.

But alas, as I continue signing up for ridiculous races, I’ve figured out that’s not actually true.

I love running.

And my sweet spot is the long run.

My strength in running is that I can pace myself.

I can tough it out.

And even if you can sprint a million times faster than me (and you probably can), I’ll eventually catch up.

As long as I’m listening to Selena Gomez.

In any case, as I made it home at the very steady pace of nearly 10 minute miles, I felt good.

Like I could maybe do another 5.1.

Bring on the half, my friends. I think my head’s finally in the game.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, Running

One response to “get your head in the game.

  1. 19 laps was totally ridiculous!

    And it seems like the number of required laps changed every year. It’s like our teacher figured out how much we were cutting on the corners and just added a few more laps for good measure.

    I think this may have been child abuse. I’ll get back to you on that…

Leave a Reply

