and the sun keeps shining down.

Chickens, it’s a day off for me over here.

I’ve already run five miles, practiced some yoga, and eaten an egg & cheese sandwich.

Things are looking up.

And since it’s a holiday weekend, I’m headed out to MI with JW for the next couple of days.

Since I wouldn’t be with my mom and dad this weekend, I headed over there on Tuesday to get to one of our Italian Easter traditions.

Guess what?

It has to do with food.

It’s called pizzagaina, which is actually pronounced pizza-gain.

And it’s amazing.

The recipe I linked you to is not exactly how we did it, because honestly, no two Italian cooks do anything the same way, but it gives you the delicious gist of it.

The first thing to do, when making this, is cut up pretty much 18 kinds of meats and cheese.

And throw them all into a large bowl.

After that, you mix in about a dozen eggs, and nestle it into already waiting pie crusts.

The pie crusts are pretty standard as far as recipes go, but the difference is that you grind pepper into the crust.

Don’t skip this step if you do it.

Next, you realize you’ve cut up far more meat and cheese than you need, so you hustle to make another pie crust.

Once you’ve finally found a home for all the filling, you tuck the pies into the oven at 350 degrees for about 1.5 hours.

After that, you let it cool, and then you dig in.

It’s a breakfast, lunch, or dinner approved food.

We made four with that giant bowl of meat & cheese, and my husband’s already taken down the first one by himself.

He’s proud of it.

Luckily for me, my mom gave me an extra to take to Michigan, so I’ll be enjoying it all Easter weekend.

There’s no holiday that can’t be made better with food, chickens.

And now I’m off to run errands, say Happy Easter to the teens, and get to the country. Have a wonderful Easter, chickadees!

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Michigan, Running, Things that are delicious, Yoga

One response to “and the sun keeps shining down.

  1. Oh my gosh. I MUST make me some pizzagaina!

Leave a Reply

