forget the lives we used to live

All right, we’ve arrived at Wednesday.

This week seems to be moving pretty slow, if you ask me.

Also, the rapidly decreasing temperature is causing my nose to run and my mental toughness waver.

It’s no fun to run when you’re cold, and it’s windy, and your hands are freezing but your body is too hot, because you maybe have one (or three) too many layers on.

I read a quote recently on a running website that noted “There’s no such thing as bad weather, just soft people.”

Count me in as soft, chickens.

That being said, I have plans to trudge out five more miles tonight.

It turns out I’m too scared of my training plan to skip it.

Also up this week is the Quest for Something to Wear to the wedding I have coming up on Friday.

I keep trekking up to H&M after work, only to become immediately overwhelmed and to make impulsive, ill-fitting purchases.

I’m on my second belt in six days.

For some reason, belts which seems to fit fine in the crowded, unorganized, loud store don’t actually fit in the quiet of my own home.

It’s a phenomenon.

I might just have to wear jeans.

So look for that.

And now, chickadees, I’m off to stubbornly pull on my lightest coat, accept the fact that I’ll have to freeze on the way to work, and get this day started.

No one ever said my stubborn nature would get me far.

I just need it to get me five miles today.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Near Disaster, Reflections, This makes me crazy, Weather

2 responses to “forget the lives we used to live

  1. You’re not alone. There are quite a few of us softies out there. I know this because the gym last night hasn’t been that packed since the end of January. Gross.

  2. Ahh, I’m a softy sometimes too! Sigh. I agree that the week seems to be crawling so far, too. Good luck finding an outfit for the wedding!

Leave a Reply

