and then there was one.

Ok, chickadees.

Tomorrow is race day.

I ran 3 miles last night through the sunny, chilly ‘hood, and felt pretty solid at the end of it.

Let’s hope I’ll feel that way 10 more after that.

We can dream, can’t we?

In any case, my sneakers and all my gear is packed up, I’m eating protein and carbs this morning, and only a few hours stand between me and the race site.

And then the actual race, of course.

I’ve felt, in general, like this training hasn’t been quite as strict as the last time I ran a half marathon, but I’m trying to make peace with that.

When I think about it objectively, I still ran a lot of GD miles.

Also, I was maybe just a little bit more obsessive compulsive at 25.

It’s true. I was worse than this.

Somehow I just don’t feel quite as prepared this time around, despite knowing that I hit all the milestones on my training plan.

Yes, my training plan is in Excel format.

I think it’s a mental issue, and I’m hoping it dissipates as soon as my feet hit the pavement.

The hot beats should help with that one.

Race weather’s looking to be about 45 and stormy, which means I’ll be layering up and crossing my fingers that I stay warm enough.

But not too warm, chicks.

It’s all a balancing game on race day.

So I’ll be taking deep breaths all day and thinking positive thoughts- wish me luck chickadees, I’ll need all the good energy I can get tomorrow!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Did I really do that?, Reflections, Running, Weather

One response to “and then there was one.

  1. Sorry the weather blows this weekend.

    But I’m sure you’re going to do great! You’ve done some long runs after working all day… so there’s no doubt in my mind you’ll nail this when you’re well-rested and ready to go!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

