the sunnier side of things.

Nothing better than a sunny Saturday, chickadees.

Last night, I spent the evening with KD and Tobes, my six-month old godson.

They’re pretty much the best.

After JK’s sad last day at the office, his tiny face was probably the best remedy to my melancholy mood.

*****

This morning, I woke up early and decided to get back to my usual routine.

Which meant bells before 9am.

Gene was happy to see me- he shook my shoulders, called me a Spartan, and tortured me for the next 60 minutes.

I admit that it was just what I needed.

I won’t be able to walk tomorrow.

I have a good life, chickens.

*****

Also this morning, I headed to the Farmers’ Market, where I was happy to learn that strawberries have finally made it into season.

This also means that rhubarb is on its way out.

One unfortunate market-er was flabbergasted to hear this, and I eavesdropped on an awkward, nearly-an-argument he conducted with a farmer.

“This is ridiculous- how can it be over? I miss it every year!” he said.

“Well, it only lasts through the beginning of the season- it’s a short season,” the farmer patiently explained.

At that point, the shopper huffed and puffed and walked off.

It’s a growing season, not a sale at Macy’s, is what I say.

There’s no such thing as an extension at the farm.

And that’s the way it should be, as far as I’m concerned.

Also sighted at the market:

One delightful man, playing his acoustic guitar to the tune of several James Taylor songs.

I loved every second of it.

10 minutes later, a young man joined him with an electric, and then things were really jamming.

I love summer in the city, my friends.

*****

Up tonight, we say goodbye to JK: the This is Actually it Edition.

I’m planning on crying as much as I want.

Also dealing with my grief by making approximately a gross of chicken kebabs.

Do what feels right, chickens.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Things that are delicious, Weather

Leave a Reply

