letting the breeze roll on in.

It is a beautiful day in the Second City, chickadees.

Also, it’s Father’s Day weekend, which means saying thank you to all those Dads for being the best.

Like my dad, who I roped in yesterday to assist me with making my back deck look summer-ready.

Last summer he found my only.leaves.and.no.flowers.please theme to be less than satisfactory.

This year, I let him take a stab at it.

Planting is a craft (so we know how I do at it) and my dad has a green thumb, so I figured, this way, we both won.

I think it turned out pretty nice.

In fact, I’m blogging from my newly renovated space right now.

 

Also this weekend, we took a trip to the Green City Market in ridiculous heat, but we made out with tons of he
rbs for the deck, arugula bunches bigger than my head, and more asparagus and strawberries because I know time.is.running.out on that growing season.

It’ll make way for something else delicious, I know, but in the interim, my job is to purchase and consume as much of those items as I can before they’re gone.

I can’t help the way I am, my friends, so try not to judge me too much.

Today we’re cleaning up and hanging out, making waffles and slicing fruit, reading and typing and getting ready for soccer games.

And also, of course, for Father’s Day dinner in the suburbs.

It has been a lovely weekend, chickens, and I hope you can say the same.

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Weather

One response to “letting the breeze roll on in.

  1. It truly has been a lovely weekend! Glad you enjoyed yours too. And that view looks splendid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

