in anticipation of a steamy day.

NPR tells me that it’s supposed to feel like 103 degrees out there today.

This, my chickens, is horrifying news.

Which I can’t see or feel yet, since JW drew the blinds and we’re tucked away safely in the climate-controlled apartment.

I anticipate a steamy commute.

Last night, Ky and I met up to hang and try a new recipe.

It’s what we do.

We took the basis from here, a cute new blog I found a couple weeks ago with awesome photography and interesting recipes.

Ky and I once tried quinoa patties, which were roughly the same idea as these couscous cakes.

Except the quinoa patties fell apart and we just sort of put sauce over them and shoved them into our mouths.

Sometimes you have to improvise.

In any case, the couscous cakes held up pretty well, which we think was a combination of both the 2 eggs we added, and also, the chickpeas, which sort of pasted everything together.

In the end, these were delicious- you could add cheese or other herbs, and you certainly could put together a yogurt-y sauce instead of the sriracha-sour cream-garlic blend we came up with last minute while pulling out items from my understocked fridge.

Last minute is our thing.

It usually works out.

In any case, here’s the evidence:

We threw in a big clove of garlic, 1/2 cup of rinsed, canned chickpeas, and a handful of parsley from my deck. To that, we added s&p and a glug of red wine vinegar. The recipe calls for lemon zest, but Ky had a Lemon Situation, and I didn’t think venturing to the store for one lemon was really worth anyone’s while.

This is what it looked like a few pulses later in the old food processor. Don’t worry about getting it too finely chopped.

There’s nothing wrong with a coarse chop, chickadees.

Next up, we combined the paste with two eggs, lightly beaten, and some couscous (we made 3/4 dry, and I have no concept of what that yields when cooked. That much- you know, in the bowl).

We used a 1/4 cup to form the patties. I kept using my fork to push down the mixture, and Ky kept telling me it wasn’t working, because of the tines.

Those damn tines.

“You need something flat,” she suggested.

I picked up the fork again.

I have a hard time learning from my mistakes.

But you guys already knew that.

This is what our yield looked like. We pan-fried these suckers in a little olive oil for about 3 minutes or so on each side. As long as the egg is cooked and both sides are browned, you basically can’t go wrong.

Next, we chopped up a clove of garlic, mixed sour cream and sriracha with s&p until it was just spicy enough, and served it all up alongside a giant salad.

These were amazing, to be honest. Super easy to throw together, and they almost tasted a little falafel-y because of the addition of the chickpeas. It probably took us 20 minutes from start to finish (maybe a tiny bit longer, since we were relaying news of our day and waving around our arms and discussing how long you can save sour cream past its expiration date, but you get the general idea). This is an easy, healthy, different dish, and I recommend you get to it as soon as possible.

Or at least before we all melt today.

4 Comments

Filed under Things that are delicious, Weather

4 responses to “in anticipation of a steamy day.

  1. I know it’s pan-fried, but this still looks like such a light summer-y meal! It must be all the green.

    Good luck out there, today.

  2. That looks absolutely delicious! I’m definitely going to try it 🙂

    http://donteatdirt.com/

  3. Hi Nikki! I am so glad you made these patties up and that they were a success. I love hearing when people make a recipe from my blog, as it’s always nice to hear how things turn out for people. Thanks for posting and linking back to me as well. The salad you served these up with looks super delish and refreshing.

    Have a happy 4th!

    xoxo,
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

