broccoli fritters: summer perfection.

Last night I hung around, finishing up some projects and watching some trashy television.

Also, eating ice cream sandwiches.

Those are usually pretty important in the grand scheme of things.

In addition, since JW was at class, I decided to take a look at Smitten Kitchen’s broccoli fritter recipe and try it out while no one was there to observe.

Sometimes Smitten Kitchen’s recipes are perfect, and sometimes, they cause me all kinds of angst.

Luckily, this one turned out to be easy and delicious.

First, I chopped up three cups of broccoli florets that I purchased at the Farmers’ Market this weekend in a vegetable black out.

It happens.

Then I steamed it for about six minutes.

While the steamed broccoli was cooling, I mixed up 1/2 cup flour, 1/3 cup parmesan cheese, 1 egg, and some hot pep and salt.

I threw the steamed broccoli on top of all of that, and proceeded to mash it all up.

At this point, I had some concerns that things were going to get messy, but I pressed on. I added a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to a hot cast iron pan, and let it heat up.

Then I dropped in about 1/4 cup fritters into the piping hot oil, and jumped back so I wouldn’t burn myself.

I pretty much always burn myself.

This part was a little dangerous. The oil was hot, and the fritters were a little unstable  (and needed to be flattened slightly), until they cooked for a few minutes. After about three minutes, I held my breath and flipped them over, and oil sputtered all over the stove.

About three more minutes, and we were good to go.

Once these drained a bit, I paired them with a big salad (becoming basically my summer side dish) and a dollop of sour cream, and sat down with some work and the Kardashians.

Because it’s all about balance chickadees.

That and delicious, full of nutrients, and seasonal dinner.

You guys should really give this one a try.

Maybe just steer clear of the hot oil.

3 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Things that are delicious

3 responses to “broccoli fritters: summer perfection.

  1. Very creative! I feel like all the broccoli haters would like this one!

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who has random black-outs at farmer’s markets and inexplicably come home with a plethora of vegetables I have no idea what to do with…Which is why I also have a ton of broccoli. I see some fritters in my future… 😉

    Happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

