home is wherever i’m with you.

And finally, some relief from the heat.

Things were getting a bit crazy out there.

As in, people were shooting each other all over the city.

And decks were catching on fire.

And I was sweating to death.

In any case, our windows are actually open this morning, and despite being sunburned (I got a little bit bold and went without sunscreen yesterday. You can get sunburned through clouds, I can hear my sister scolding me), I’m feeling much cooler than I’ve felt in days.

Weeks, maybe.

This weekend was a lovely combination of swimming, boating, wedding-going, new friend-making picnic-table sitting, and relaxing.

Also, there were kilts.

JW looks pretty handsome in a kilt, right?

Kilts in abundance. JW’s favorite part is the sporren, which is, in effect, a man purse.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he busts it out for everyday use on occasion.

And there, my friends, is the group. We did Scottish dancing, ate delicious food, and hung out in the basement when things got a little hot (150 people + 105 degree weather = one busted AC).

As previously mentioned, it was a lovely, lovely weekend.

And now, it’s back to the reality of commuter trains and laptops and cubicles.

To soften the blow, tonight I’m planning on having dinner with some pals to see how everyone survived the crazy weather.

My guess is high electric bills and lots of cold water.

Enjoy it out there, chickadees.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Good times, Michigan, Reflections, Things that are delicious

2 responses to “home is wherever i’m with you.

  1. There are few things in this world I love more than a man in a kllt. Perhaps its my Irish genes, but I love them. Not like everyday, but you know what I mean. 😉 And I’m glad the temps are down from the triple digits. I think I was sweating away my sanity.

  2. The deck on fire… was that Friday? I saw the news helicopter and was temporarily deaf from the 3 fire trucks that whizzed by me on my way home…

Leave a Reply

