Good morning, chickens.

And welcome to the nearing of the end of the week.

The weekend is in sight.

And that, I think, is a good thing.

Which means it’s the kind of day to reflect on five.good.things.

So without delay, here we go.

1. This little guy.

 

Logan Michael was born last week, and I feel like I haven’t given him enough screen time.

He’s adorable, obviously. And the sixth of my first cousins, once removed (which by the way, sounds silly. He doesn’t feel removed. So I won’t call him that again). Welcome to the world, dude. We’re so glad to have you!

2. After many unsuccessful attempts this week, I finally pulled myself out of bed early and hit up the treadmill before work, getting in a little over 4 miles.

Was it pretty?

Not really.

An accomplishment?

I’d say so.

3. This week, I will have been treated to a total of three lunches.

Take that, writers of the adage “There’s no such thing as free lunch.”

I beg to differ.

4. JW and I have been watching The Hatfields and the McCoys this week, which means approximately six hours of watching backwoods West Virginian and Kentucky residents of the 19th century take each other out over seemingly trivial matters.

I think, if brought back to life and forced to watch the series, these families would feel a little silly.

It still makes fairly good historical fiction fare for a weeknight of lounging.

5. This weekend, we’re headed to Michigan to get in some sun, lake, and relaxation prior to the business that September’s about to bring to the world.

September is a month of getting things started.

August looks more like this.

 


Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it, chickadees.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Five Good Things, Michigan

2 responses to “

  1. Auntie Rosemary

    It was a beautiful thing to add little Logan to our family tree. He renews my hope for humankind. You may refer to him as your second cousin if you prefer. It still can’t express your feelings for him. But, at least it removed “removed” from his title.

  2. Love the name Logan – he looks like such a sweet little guy. I’m jealous of your weekend at the lake – enjoy every second! September (and fall) are just around the corner…

Leave a Reply

