take it to the limit.

Morning, chickens!

I hope that everyone’s been having a lovely weekend, and that if you happen to have today off, you’re enjoying this beautiful (in Chicago) Monday morning.

In order to combat all of the cocktail enjoying and food consuming I’ve been doing all weekend, I’m headed to a kettlebell class at 10:15.

Gene on my day off might turn out to be a mistake, but that’s a risk I’m willing to take.

I think.

We’ll see how it goes.

Last night, JD, CC, Ky, JW and I met my parents and headed over to the Taste of Melrose Park, a festival in the suburbs devoted to delicious (mostly Italian) food.

I basically ate everything I saw, and my father made his dreams come true by constructing a fried dough pizza by visiting multiple vendors.

Back in the home state of CT, you grow up eating a circle of fried pizza dough covered in sauce and Parmesan cheese.

For some reason, we can’t find it in the Midwest, where generally, people sprinkle sugar on top of their fried dough.

Also delicious.

In Michigan, they don’t even call this fried dough, but an elephant ear.

Still tastes good.

Anyway, my dad asked for a plain fried dough, and then traveled to the gnocchi booth, where he was able to buy a container of sauce.

This is what he returned with after his journey.

It was amazing.

I feel like it might be a personal mission to bring this delicacy west.

Stay tuned on that one.

Also last night, JD, Ky and I stood in line to get our hands on sfingi, a donut-like wonder covered in sugar, made by nuns, and distributed in an egg carton.

 

Add these two treats to the elderly man singing Rat Pack hits while dancing emphatically, and you have yourself a nice little night.

There’s nothing like a holiday weekend to get you going, chickadees.

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Things that are delicious

Leave a Reply

