closer i am to fine

Hello friends! Jennie here, Nikki’s favorite (only) baby sister.

While she visits California, she’s requested that I blog for her, so here I am! Today, I want to tell you about a little race I did Labor Day weekend.

You may remember that I ran a 5k with Nikki back in May of 2011. That was my first 5k, and smack in the middle of training for that one, I may or may not have gone on a 10 day road trip that prevented me from training. And race day was 40 degrees and sleeting. Needless to say, it took us 41 minutes, and it wasn’t necessarily something to be proud of. So when my friend Ellen suggested we run a 5k together at summer’s end, I thought, “SURE!”

I started training in the beginning of July (using Sparkpeople’s Rookie to 5K program) and trained through the hottest of hot days. I don’t have a gym membership, so it was to the city streets for me, winding around LA, trying not to fall over flat. At first, my training had me running for one minute. Then two. The jump from two to three, I thought, would kill me. But then, suddenly, I was running three minutes at a time. Then four. Then longer, and farther. Then, my legs and lungs didn’t hurt as badly as they had before! Was I still walking for part of my training? Yes. But was I running more? Absolutely.

And so, after eight weeks of training (during which I went on two cross-country plane trips but yet only missed one day of training), I ran a 5K with Ellen and Jeff at the Pasadena Rose Bowl.

This is Jeff (my boyfriend) and I pre-race. It was an 80s 5k, in case you were wondering. Although, to be fair, I wear those shorts and that shirt a lot. Not together. (OK sometimes together.) Jeff does not wear those shorts, though.

Here is Ellen and Jeff and me, after the race. We were hot and sweaty (Thank you California for being 85 degrees at 9 am) but we had done it! And the best part? It was Jeff and Ellen’s first race, so automatic personal bests, and a personal best for me, at 38:56!!

Ellen and I have already looked into 10Ks to run this winter, giving ourselves a few months to train up to that. If you know of any good 10k trainings, let me know — we’re definitely in the market!

1 Comment

Filed under Did I really do that?, Guest Post

One response to “closer i am to fine

  1. Hey Nikki’s sister!!! 🙂

    Congrats on the new PR! And I’m glad you had more fun running it this time around… the conditions were most definitely less than ideal for your first experience.

Leave a Reply

