and I came home/like a stone

Hey chickadees.

Welcome to Friday- that showed up fast, huh?

Maybe it’s the two-days-only I’ve spent in the office.

I’ll take what I can get.

Last night, post a long day of trying-to-get-up-to-speed and chatting with my work pals, I headed over to Ky’s for an appointment of dinner, catching up, and laying around.

I’m so very lucky that one of my bffs lives mere blocks from my home.

Unfortunately, the third peg in our wheel was in IN, but that’s a story for another day.

Since I’m on an-I’m-only-eating-healthy-things kick to pay for my sins of the last few weeks, we roasted sweet potatoes, sauteed onions, mushrooms and kales (yes, Jewel called the greens “kales,” not kale), and threw it over whole wheat couscous.

 

Not bad- I can feel my insides thanking me for pressing pause on the red meat and empty carbohydrates.

I’ll be back one day, don’t you worry.

Post dinner, we watched television (which really means chatting loudly over the characters and then not having any idea what’s going on), and took to the couch and bed respectively.

“When I leave, all you have to do is close your eyes. I think I’ll start entertaining you from my bedside,” I noted, as Ky accessorized herself with another blanket.

“It does kind of look like you’re at my sick bedside,” she admitted, and we cracked up again.

It’s the little things that you keep you laughing, chickens.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Things that are delicious

2 responses to “and I came home/like a stone

  1. That meal looks delicious! Just stumbled on your blog, I’m in Chicago too! Midwest represent.

Leave a Reply

