what a long strange trip it’s been.

Hey there chickens!

And welcome to another week.

As of this weekend, the air’s getting chilly, leaves are changing, and I woke up this morning to find out that October has showed up.

Welcome to the party.

With the start of October comes another exciting milestone.

My Dad’s (50th) birthday.

This is me and my dad:

 

 

My dad is funny, loud, loves the Grateful Dead and tie-dye in equal measure, and on Bring Your Daughter to Work day, he used to take me and J to the hospital, where we got to do pretend surgery and be on the local news.

He also came to all my soccer games (even when I hissed things like just shut up already at him from the field…I was troubled, chickens), moved me into my college dorm, took me to a plastic surgeon when I almost cut off my finger at age seven (it’s probably going to hurt a lot, he said. It doesn’t hurt that bad right now, I noted. Well, the stitches will hurt much more than it hurts now, he said. The RN’s medical opinion turned out to be right.) and is the only person in my family who will watch sports with me.

So he’s pretty much the best.

Yesterday, we headed out to the ‘burbs to watch football, eat birthday cake, and also, to start a couch to 5k program.

Another good thing about my dad: he tolerates my pushy plans to turn my family into a racing machine.

Mom, I’m coming for you next.

Even though you kind of scare me.

In any case, my dad and I finished the first session easy-breezy, and I think we’re on course to do a pre-Thanksgiving turkey trot this year.

Up next on the celebration spectrum: keg party next weekend(no, I’m not kidding).

Here’s to the next 50 years Dad- I love you!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Running, Things that are delicious

One response to “what a long strange trip it’s been.

Leave a Reply

