spinning in the wheelhouse.

And somehow, the weekend’s come to a close, chickadees.

This weekend in particular was full of equal parts lounging, visiting, and being productive.

Yesterday afternoon, Ky and I decided to try out something new that had been spinning in Ky’s wheelhouse for awhile: homemade Larabars.

All week, she’d been telling me how easy they would be to make, so I signed on without doing any research, and it wasn’t until we were standing in the bulk foods section of Whole Foods before I wondered what I’d gotten myself into.

“What do you think about adding cranberries?” she said, eyeing another bin.

“I don’t think anything. I have no idea what we’re doing. Sure, cranberries.” I said, and started shoveling a random quantity of cranberries into a bag while Ky made faces at me.

When we got back to my house, we assessed our ingredients.

We ended up with dried dates, cranberries, cashews, flax seed, and coconut flakes.

What happened next was much easier than I anticipated.

We used equal parts “sticky stuff” to nuts, flax seed and coconut flakes. In our case, that ratio was three cups of both varieties. First we pulsed the fruit (more dates than cranberries in our case- I would switch it to equal parts next time to cut some of the sweetness of the dates), until it was a ball. Then we wiped the bowl clean and started over with the nuts, seeds, and coconut.

I mostly observed from the sidelines.

“You know that making our own granola bars officially makes us hippies,” I noted, as Ky stirred up cashew dust.

She looked at me and admitted, “I was sort of banking on that.”

We carried on.

Once we had both categories of ingredients pulsed, we combined them in a bowl with a couple of tablespoons of water.


Once it was all combined, Ky and I pressed the bars into some sort of shape that looked appealing, and wrapped them individually in plastic wrap.

Which wasn’t very hippie friendly.

Next time we’re planning on using wax paper bags.

 

The recipe yielded about ten bars, and the results were pretty delicious. The best part, I think, is that I suspect that you could do this with any fruit or nut combination.

That and the fact that we’ve now committed to being official hippies.

A productive Sunday, chickens, if I do say so myself.

4 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, Reflections, Things that are delicious

4 responses to “spinning in the wheelhouse.

  1. I really need a food processor.

    Granola bars are fun to make, however, mine always tend to fall apart. So I just have granola.

  2. Auntie Rosemary

    You have hippie running through your veins, Lady Jane!!

  3. Love this! I’ve always not-so-secretly wished that I was a hippie.

Leave a Reply

