The government is us; we are the government, you and I.

Last night, it was so warm that I went for a pre-debate, head-clearing run in shorts and a t-shirt.

October- where’d you go?

Not that I’m complaining.

When I got home, I cozied up on the couch with a drink, my iPad, my phone, and debate coverage on television.

I like to have access to all corners of the internet when I’m watching political events.

Post his mid-term, this is how JW found me:

 

I’m dedicated to the cause, chickadees.

And I’ll be climbing on my soapbox again for a moment, so please, avert your eyes if it bothers you.

I hope you’ll stay with me, though.

I think that last night put into place a lot of the out of touch ideas that Mitt Romney actually thinks are going to work. Among the ones that disturbed me most are the following:

  • Helping the women of America means relaying a story of a time someone brought him “binders of women” as job candidates and ensuring employers provide flexibility to women so we can get home and make dinner for our families. Do I think families need flexibility at work? Yes. But guess what, that includes men. On the flip side, not all of us women have families to go home and cook for- what’s your plan for us? Helping the women of America means enforcing anti-discrimination laws and ensuring that I make the same amount as a man doing the same work. On the binder comment, I have no words. I was offended.
  • No amnesty for any illegal immigrants, and the option to self-deport. This just isn’t going to work. And quite frankly, when someone describes a group of people as “illegals” instead of “illegal immigrants” it irritates me. When you take away the noun, you’re taking away the fact that these folks are people. We’re a nation of immigrants (and honestly, not all legally). Let’s start remembering that.
  • Cutting taxes for the middle class by eliminating the tax on capital gains and dividends? Most middle class people I know (myself included) don’t have capital gains and dividends taxes to worry about- we’re middle class, Mitt. Post recession, a lot of us don’t even have a savings account.
  • I personally loved the question about AK-47s. And I’m not gonna lie- I think it’s straight up ridiculous that a population of America thinks it’s okay to own combat weapons like this. That aside, Mitt Romney turned this into a treatise on why America needs heterosexual, married, two-parent households raising children. It’s 2012, and even if your life happens to be this way, it’s certainly not the only path to success in raising well-adjusted, contributing members of society. Let’s remember that Barack Obama was raised by a single mom, and he seems to be doing just fine. 

Obviously, I lean in a certain direction. And that’s okay- in America, we all have the opportunity to hold and voice our own opinions, thank God. I’ve never been an undecided voter, and if you ask me why, this is what I’d say.

Even if (and this is 100% hypothetical, since I don’t think it to be true in the slightest), the Republican party had the magic formula to end unemployment, I couldn’t vote for them. Republican lawmakers have a record of enforcing racist edicts (you look like you might be an illegal immigrant, show me your papers), of wanting control over my body (goodbye Planned Parenthood. Goodbye, legal abortion. Goodbye, access to affordable mammograms and yearly checkups), and of stripping rights from my gay friends (this is absolutely a civil rights issue, in my mind).

Chickens, I can’t wrap my head around voting for someone who takes anyone’s rights to be expendable.

And that, I think, is why I can’t look away until I know how this thing is going to land. Call me a bleeding heart, call me overly sensitive, call me anything you want- just pay attention during this election cycle.

I’m stepping down for now- only a few more weeks to go chicks- hopefully you can stand me by then.

3 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Politics, Reflections, Running, This makes me crazy, Weather

3 responses to “The government is us; we are the government, you and I.

  1. I don’t really touch on politics on my blog at all. So I shall live vicariously through you and just say “YES”.

  2. Auntie Rosemary

    You come from a long line of proud bleeding hearts. Hold your head high!

  3. +1 For the Shock Top! Yummy.

Leave a Reply

