nothing to do but laugh.

Oh chickens, I’m so glad the weekend’s in reach.

Despite the fact that it’s been cloudy and rainy for a few days now, I’m still looking forward to not being cooped up in my cubicle.

I’ll gladly take the rain.

And now, since it’s Friday, a couple of things to lighten up the dark skies:

Last night, Ky and I went to my mom and dad’s house for dinner. In the middle of a conversation, my mother’s eyes grew big, and she walked to a cabinet.

“Ky- I have been meaning to tell you about this,” she said seriously, as she rummaged around in the back of a cabinet for something.

We just looked at each other.

She came out with a giant mason jar of almonds.

“Stay away from these!” she said, shaking the jar in Ky’s direction.

Ky’s allergic to almonds.

My mother has concerns that Ky will some day forget this, find the secret hiding place of almonds, and start eating them recklessly.

We laughed until we cried.

My mom just shook the jar in our direction.

******

A few weeks ago, my brother thought that his paycheck was stolen.

Someone signed his name to a check, and cashed it.

MJ, outraged at someone who would steal from him, called the police, called his boss, and showed the copy of the check to anyone who would look.

“Does this look like my signature?” he said to my dad.

My dad admitted it did not.

“He didn’t even sign my whole name. It says Michael Pallu!” my brother remarked angrily.

We were all on board the who-would-do-that? train and kept asking MJ for updates on the situation.

Last week,  we caught the culprit red-handed.

Apparently, my dad thought the lifeguarding check was for some consulting work he had done.

It turns out, he’s the dastardly Michael Pallu.

“I showed you the check,” my brother tried to reason.

The rest of us just laughed.

*****

My brother gave us a ride home later last night, and we pulled onto Ashland, where he was cruising fairly slowly in the left line.

Someone who obviously felt the need to zip down the street started beeping his horn, probably in our direction.

“Why do these people keep barking at me?” he said, seriously.

I questioned his use of the term barking.

“That’s exactly what they’re doing. They’re barking.” he said, undeterred.

I guess he’s got a point.

******

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it, chickadees.

And then send it in my direction.

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Near Disaster, Reflections

One response to “nothing to do but laugh.

  1. Haha, your family is awesome. 🙂 I’m glad the rain seems to be clearing out for the weekend- hope you have a good one!

Leave a Reply

