heading into the home stretch.

Listen, chickens.

I was going to write about my delightful 5k with my buddies yesterday.

I’ll at least pause to show you how happy we were to be running at 7:30 in the morning on a Sunday.

 

But, my dear chickadees, it’s the first Monday of November, so you know what’s on my mind.

Tomorrow’s Election Day.

And so my nervous energy is sort of taking over any other activities I had planned.

My opinions are strong, and I know that.

I’ve never been sorry about it.

You can say that President Obama hasn’t fulfilled all his promises, that America’s not back on her feet four years later, and you can cast your vote based on some kind of not-quite-detailed plan to cut the deficit for white, rich American men and hope it trickles down to the rest of us.

Or you can vote for a man who believes that all Americans deserve equal rights, whether they be rich, poor, white, African-American, gay or straight.

To be honest with you, when I peel back all the layers of this election, I’m voting on the platform of human rights.

And I’m not apologizing to anyone for it.

I’m not going to whisper because I might offend someone.

This is America, chickens, and the best part about our great country is that in the name of freedom, we’re allowed to express whatever opinion we’ve got.

I saw this through a Facebook post a few weeks ago, and I think it sums up how I’ve been feeling lately.

“I wish my moderate Republican friends would simply be honest. They all say they’re voting for Romney because of his economic policies (tenuous and ill-formed as they are), and that they disagree with him on gay rights. Fine. Then look me in the eye, speak with a level clear voice, and say, ‘My taxes and take-home pay mean more than your fundamental civil rights, the sanctity of your marriage, your right to visit an ailing spouse in the hospital, your dignity as a citizen of this country, your healthcare, your right to inherit, the mental welfare and emotional well-being of your youth, and your very personhood.’ It’s like voting for George Wallace during the Civil Rights movements, and apologizing for his racism. You’re still complicit. You’re still perpetuating anti-gay legislation and cultural homophobia. You don’t get to walk away clean, because you say you “disagree” with your candidate on these issues.”

-Max von Essen
Am I oversimplifying it? Maybe, chicks. But I can’t stress how important it is to think about your neighbor this Election Day. To think about how you’d feel if it was your rights that weren’t equal to someone else’s, just because of your gender, or the color of your skin, or your sexual orientation. My suspicion is that you’d be outraged. I would be.
I am.
I know I’m not changing votes at this stage in the game- but I think it’s important to have the conversation.
At least we live in a country where that’s something we’re allowed, chicks.
Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it.
3 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Politics, Reflections

3 responses to “heading into the home stretch.

  1. I completely agree with you. This is why I’ll never ever ever knowingly vote for a pro-life candidate. My uterus (AND MY LIFE) is far more important to me than money.

  2. Grace Hendricks

    You go girl…Grandpa would be proud of you…..I know I am……

  3. I’ll be crossing my fingers with you tomorrow, my friend.

Leave a Reply

