thankful, happy and full.

Morning, chickens!

Sorry for the delay in posting, but it’s been a big weekend, and I’ve finally found myself with a minute to chat.

Friday, we packed up our crates and said goodbye to six years at the old office, including this view that I will certainly miss:

We celebrated with drinks, and then I had Ky and JD pick me up so we could retrieve the turkey for our Friendsgiving celebration.

We’ve been hosting a Friendsgiving of varying size every year since college, and it’s hands down one of my favorite events of the year.

Everyone brings something awesome, we drink as much wine as we have (and sometimes more), and we eat until we can’t eat anymore.

Also, lots of laughing.

This was no exception.

Usually, I take the day before the holiday off to get my turkey ready and whip my home into shape.

With the office move, that didn’t happen.

Which meant a rushed turkey salt rub and a frantic organizing of things the morning of Friendsgiving.

At one point, I found myself hoisting the turkey over the sink, rinsing it off, when I suddenly wondered why would I be rinsing off this salt rub?

Good question, NP.

Luckily, the turkey didn’t suffer as a result of my strange oversight.

The night was a success- everyone had a great time, the food was delicious, and we had a chance to break bread and talk about what we were thankful for this year.



Among this year’s list were friends, family, health, dogs,capitalism, new homes, and Gangnam style.

We’re a grateful bunch.

Up today, chickadees: working from home, making a dent in my leftovers, and double crossing my fingers for the Bears’ game tonight.

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it.

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Food, Good times, Reflections, Things that are delicious

2 responses to “thankful, happy and full.

  1. Your Friendsgiving sounds like fun. Nice office view!

Leave a Reply

