as much has been given us, much will be expected from us

Happy Thanksgiving, chickadees!

I’m thankful for all kinds of things this year, including my family, friends, health, beautiful city, lovely weather, and the day of football and food I’m about to receive.

I’m a lucky girl, chicks.

Also, I’m thankful that I had the chance to run a 5k with my family this morning to start off our day in the sunshine, and especially that I got to run with my dad for his first race.

Which we rocked in 33:50, 2 minutes and 10 seconds faster than our anticipated goal time.

I see big races in our future.


I know I’m wearing bright green. I thought it might be nice to look my brightest out there.

I’m excited for a day of literally hanging around, since we prepped almost all of our dishes last night.

And we have a lot of dishes, including soup, a million vegetable sides, and a lasagna.

We’re Italian. We eat lasagnas on every holiday. Or some other sauce-pasta-cheese combination.

We can’t help it, and honestly, we don’t really want to help it.

Sitting around the dinner table last night, we wondered if maybe we should put up a sign somewhere encouraging those with no family in town to come eat our (sort of) embarrassing amount of food.

No one should eat at a restaurant when what’s going on in our refrigerator exists.

And with that, I’m off to to do some breakfast eating, coffee drinking, and parade watching.

Happy Thanksgiving, chickens. I hope you have a wonderful, laughing-filled day with the people you love.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, Good times, Reflections, Running, Things that are delicious

One response to “as much has been given us, much will be expected from us

  1. That’s a great time, Nikki! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

