basking in the glow of tomorrow.

Hey there chickens!

I hope everyone’s having a good start to their day.

We’re almost to the weekend already!

I’ve got a great trip to Colorado ahead of me, scheduled so I can visit one of my best pals, LB, now that she’s relocated to the mountains.

Before that, she was hanging out in Philly for a year.

And before that, she was across the pond in Berlin for awhile.

She sets up a lot of vacation destinations for me.

In any case, JW and I are heading there for three days to enjoy some fresh air, to see some nature, and most importantly, to drink beer with LB and her very funny husband NB.

Until then though, I’m fighting back that first cold of the season by downing Vitamin C, and trying to sweat it out through various physical activities.

One of which was a kettlebell class last night.

Halfway through some kind of bone crushing squat, Gene, my beloved Russian instructor, looked at me in surprise, and said, “Nikki, congratulations!”, gesturing at my wedding rings.

Which I never wear to class, because I fear smashing them with a bell.

I explained that I had actually been married for over a year, and he furrowed his brow and exclaimed that he’d had no idea.

Looks like I’m not doing enough personal sharing in between swings, chickens.

And with that knowledge under my belt, I’m off to take down some more Vitamin C and hit the public transit.

Enjoy the sunshine if you’ve got it, chicks!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Reflections

2 responses to “basking in the glow of tomorrow.

  1. Good luck keeping the cold away… hopefully the lil’ warm up in the weather will help? 🙂

  2. Crunchy

    YAY! We’re so excited to have you in Colorado! There hasn’t been any significant snow yet, so we’ll just do some fun beer tasting instead of sledding.

    p.s. Can’t believe you’re bringing the palluzzis with you a week before my finals. Might make you wear a surgical mask.

Leave a Reply

