taking one more day.

Morning, chickadees!

I’m spending one more day over here relaxing and hanging out with my sister, and then it’s back to some pre-2013 working and cleaning for me.

Sometimes, chickens, you need a little bit of a routine.

Yesterday, my family dragged me to both Costco and the mall, where I saw the following items:

1. A store devoted to calendars only. I’ve seen them before, but for some reason (perhaps the store’s extensive collection of dog related calendars) it overwhelmed me more than usual.

I also ended up with two calendars.

If you can’t beat ’em, join ’em?

2. So many tween girls trying to buy matching items. Matching shirts. Matching shoes. I heard one girl squeal “Now we can be twinsies!” I used this as an opportunity to practice my deep breathing.

Thank you, yoga practice, for protecting me against shrill 13-year olds.

3. This. I think I could use it to get around town:

nikkionbike

 

I just sort of feel like it was made for me.

In any case, once we finally made it through the suburban tangle of traffic (JD, my friend, I don’t know how you do it every day), we went home, where my sister and father decided to make something for dinner using only what we had in the house.

I admit, I was skeptical.

But, everything ended up being pretty much a delight.

IMG_0062
IMG_0063

I wish I had a good picture of the final result, but since I ate in about three seconds, it was too late before I remembered. Here’s the recipe for the chicken burgers/cakes, and the salad was kale, parsnips, radishes, and carrots.

More kale is the answer, I think, to the holiday season.

And up today: I have changed out of lounge clothes for the first time in 48 hours, and I’m ready to enjoy my sister’s last day in the Midwest.

Also, this is happening:

IMG_0068

 

I won’t hate on a little bit of post-holiday snow, chicks.

Enjoy this Friday, everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicago, Good times, Things that are delicious, Weather

Leave a Reply

