just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die.

Morning, chickadees.

You’ll be happy to know that I successfully made it back to work with very few glitches.

Read: I remembered the way to my cubicle.

My coworkers and I spent the day catching up: on work, on holiday stories, on resolutions.

It was a nice way to head back into the routine.

JW and I also somehow remembered how to make dinner not by using Grubhub, and so, on the whole, I’m feeling pretty much like a real human being again.

That was easier than I thought it would be.

Also last night, in an attempt to jumpstart my return to the land of the living, JD and I hit up kettlebells for a weeknight session.

Swinging bells with my Russian pal always makes for an interesting evening.

And an exhausting one.

Last night turned snarky when I demanded he turn off the even crazier than normal music he was playing during a set of squats.

It sounded like monsters were yelling at me through the speakers.

Bells are scary enough on their own.

Shortly after my veto, he caught me attempting to mimic the movements of another classmate, and asked me why it was that after three years, I couldn’t remember how to lunge backwards.

Ouch, KB coach.

Good thing I appreciate his attempts to make me tougher.

But tonight, chickadees, I’m going to candlelit yoga instead.

Yoga to the People St Markssource

Remember, you guys, tomorrow’s Friday.

How’s that for an upside to this week?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chicago, Did I really do that?, Good times

2 responses to “just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die.

  1. holiday stories have filled at least half of my day every day I’ve been in the office this week. I expect next week will kill me…

  2. I keep thinking that today is Tuesday! Thanks for the reminder that actually the week is pretty much over! 🙂

Leave a Reply

