chilling right out.

Chickadees.

It is so cold out there.

On days like yesterday, I wonder, really wonder, how it is that I have lived in three states and each of them has been colder than the last.

Why do I do things like that?

All suggestions are welcome.

*****

Also yesterday: a beautiful Inauguration, complete with James Taylor doing this:

We can fight all we want about politics, but man, that song makes me tear up a little bit.

I’m welcoming the next four years with open arms chickens, because really, what’s the alternative?

*****

Monday was also, aside from being freezing and Presidential, Martin Luther King Jr. day.

Dr. King has so much good stuff in his wheelhouse that it’s hard to know where to begin, but this one, tweeted by my always-favorite Cory Booker, stuck to me a little bit more than the rest.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.”

I am pretty much the first to sheepishly raise my hand when it comes to getting angry too fast instead of thinking through my response, of trying to think of ways to even the score instead of setting it straight, and of honestly, just sometimes being too lazy to work it out instead of steeping in negativity.

All things I’m working on, by the way.

Cold, dreary days in January are a good time to remember someone who managed to always keep it positive, even in the face of inequality.

*****

Speaking of dreary, here’s something good to end this one with: at this time next week, sunset will be after 5pm.

Progress, chicks. We’re making it every day.

sllakesunset

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Reflections, Weather

One response to “chilling right out.

  1. Al Knox

    Move to Florida.

Leave a Reply

