warm mornings and happy birthdays

Morning chickens!

I hope you’re staying warm, since it looks like my friends from Chicago are dealing with this:

chicagoweather

 

Yikes, you guys.

Luckily, yesterday I had the opportunity to get out of dodge, and I woke up this morning first to see the sunrise (it’s hard to sleep in hotels, chickens) and next to the sight of this:

palmtree

 

It’s officially February, month of gray and cold, so I’ll definitely take palm trees over slushy, icy alleys.

Although, to be fair, none have been quite so icy that I’ve tripped (yet), which puts me far ahead of where I was at this time last year.

In any case, I’m off to stretch out my limbs before two days of meetings (I basically need a warm up to get going, these days), and then, to get ready for the day.

I’ve decided, at the age of nearly 29, that maybe a note or two in preparation might not kill me.

I’m maturing so much, chickadees.

Also also also, friends, speaking of birthdays:

Today is my Grandma’s birthday.

grandmapatrick

 

Here she is with a guest appearance by Patrick, one of her six great-grandchildren.

Who are all as cute as he is.

She also has 13 grandchildren of the regular variety, plus all of our various spouses, which almost doubles us in size at this point.

We’re a big group, is what I’m getting at here.

My grandma is one of my favorite people: she’s smart, funny, and is the kind of person who makes.things.happen.

She’s also on Facebook, which we all know is the clear mark of only the coolest grandmothers.

In any case, since I know she’s on Facebook and will thus have no issues accessing this little blog, I just wanted to use the biggest platform I have to say Happy Birthday Grandma, I love you!

And now, it’s off to get this one started.

Enjoy that day, chickadees!

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Good times, Reflections, Weather

3 responses to “warm mornings and happy birthdays

  1. Omg… bring some of the sunshine back home with you. PLEASE. I started to lose feeling in my toes on the way to work…

    Happy birthday, Grandma! :p

  2. We are pretty darn lucky to have her, aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

