sun is filling up the room and I can feel you dreaming.

Chickadees, we’ve hit the February freeze.

Which, despite being the month of my birthday (and Abe Lincoln’s- my second favorite US President), is my least favorite 28 (or 29- seriously, this month can’t even handle how many days it has) days of the month.

Which sounds negative.

So I’ll try to rephrase it.

I wish it was July.

And that I was at Ravinia.

Or hanging out at the beach.

wpid-0704121137a.jpg

 

Just a few more months, right?

Right.

In the meantime, I’m kicking the beginning of this cold with another green smoothie (that all managed to stay in my glass this morning), and bundling up, because it is freezing out there.

And even though it’s only Wednesday, I’m super excited for the weekend I have ahead of me, because it includes seeing Wild Jesus play, having all my friends packed into my apartment for pizza, celebrating my favorite soon-to-be-14-year-old’s birthday (these kids just keep getting older, which is terrifying but also so fun), hanging with my parents, and then falling into my lap next Tuesday, I enter:

the last year of my 20s.

I’m trying to make it feel like a big thing, you guys, but really, it doesn’t feel too big to me yet.

Especially since I spent most of the year convinced that I was 27.

I’ve got some catching up to do.

And with that, I’m hitting the road.

Bundle up chickens, and hang on, Spring will be here before we know it.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Chicago, Reflections, Weather

One response to “sun is filling up the room and I can feel you dreaming.

  1. Ahh, February is by far the worst. Everyone is hungover from winter, but spring seems so far away. The best news is, it’s so short. We can power through!

Leave a Reply

